Asexual Books: Decker’s The Invisible Orientation

Is anyone else planning on getting Julie Sondra Decker’s The Invisible Orientation: An Introduction to Asexuality when it comes out at the beginning of next month?

I am. I am so getting that book, even though it’s rare for me to buy a hardcover. (Not because I dislike hardcovers; I’m just in a state of being financially perma-broke the majority of the time and they’re more expensive). I may not be able to read and review it till the semester is over (Hi, Senior Thesis, nemesis of my life) but I’m going to buy it, and silently gloat over having it, and look forward to having the time to read it.

Because it’s the first of its kind. Sure, we’ve had books that dealt with asexuality before. There’s a collection of essays, the asexual romance anthology, a memoir, and some other stuff I’m probably forgetting, but stuff that deals with asexuality and what is, what it’s about, is largely coming from a more academic/scholarly point of view (Bogaert’s Understanding Asexuality for instance). This is the first text (as far as I know) that is a general resource on asexuality that is created for consumption by the general public versus a more niche audience (sociologists, feminists, asexuals themselves). This is the first book that we can expect to hand to anyone and have them get a clear idea of what asexuality is about and become informed about asexual issues from it.

My only regret is that I’m not financially well-off enough to buy a copy for my campus. I am pysched.

Relevant links: A Giveaway on Goodreads you can enter to get a chance to win a free copy of the book.

The book on Barnes and Noble where, according to my admittedly non-expert  calculations, it’s actually cheaper than on Amazon. (Amazon lowest price is currently $31.43 + $3.99 shipping–Barnes & Noble is $32.89 but has free shipping since the order is over $25.) Of course if you’re buying the e-version the price is much lower and shipping isn’t an issue.

2 thoughts on “Asexual Books: Decker’s The Invisible Orientation

  1. OMG you’re the best for posting about this. :) (Sorry, I got a Google alert about my book.) Just wanted to let you know that if you’re full of broke-pocket syndrome, you could always enter the giveaway contest (I posted it on Tumblr and Twitter), so there’s a possibility you could get one, and then there’s also a flier I linked in my latest video that you can use to give information to libraries about how to order it and stuff. But I think my publisher is going to do a good job getting it into libraries so you might not even have to express special interest. I’m so excited that you’re so excited. ;)

    • Heh, no problem. I just figured if there’s even one person out there that doesn’t know of the book’s existence, or forgot the release date, and knows it now because of this post…victory!

      Just wanted to let you know that if you’re full of broke-pocket syndrome, you could always enter the giveaway contest (I posted it on Tumblr and Twitter),

      Oh I’m okay, I just unfortunately don’t have my pay day till after the book’s release date, so I can’t pre-order. Everyone’s going to have it slightly before me! No fair ): I’ll add any links to the giveaway at the bottom if you care to share them; I found one on Goodreads–is this it?.

      I’m so excited that you’re so excited. ;)

      I’m ridiculously excited. I can’t believe September is finally around the corner!

Leave a Reply

